7 Continents of The World

There are seven continents of the world, covering 1/3rd area of the planet. Rest of the 2/3rd part of the globe is occupied by water. In the table to the right, these large pieces of landmass are arranged according to their area in kilometers. Also the population, Asia and Australia are the largest and smallest continents, respectively.

Sr.No Continents Area Population Countries
1. Asia 44,579,000 sq. kms 3,879,000,333 47
2. Africa 30,065,000 sq. kms 1,032,600,256 57
3. North America 24,256,000 sq. kms 528,720,588 23
4. South America 17,819,000 sq. kms 387,489,196 12
5. Antarctica 14,000,000 sq. kms 0 0
6. Europe 9,938,000 sq. kms 739,165,030 50
7. Australia 7,687,000 sq. kms 31,260,000 3

Asia is the world's largest continent with respect to both population and area. Almost 1/3rd of the world’s population lives here. It is also home to 10 highest mountain peaks among which Mount Everest is the highest one. Coming next in rank, the Mount Godwin Austen (K2) is in Pakistan. The culture of this part of the earth is very diverse...

Africa is the second largest continent on the planet Earth. Covering almost 22% of the world’s total area, it is also home to world's largest desert as well as the longest river, i.e. Nile, which passes through several countries. Known as the black continent, Africa accommodates 53 countries which are rich in natural resources and wildlife.

North America is the third largest continent in the world after Asia and Africa. In Mexico, there are world's largest petroleum and natural gas deposits. Geographic calculations show that North America is two times larger than Europe. United States and Canada are the two gigantic and rich countries which are covering a large area.

South America is the fourth largest continent of the world. About 12 percent of the world’s total population is inhabiting this geographical division on earth. The world's second largest mountain range, the Andes, is also located in this region. Among the 12 countries of S. America, Brazil is the largest while Surinam is the smallest one.

Antarctica is the coldest, driest as well as windiest continent of the world towards the South Pole. It is believed that human life does not exist here because of the harsh weather conditions. The World's lowest temperature of -81o C was recorded in Antarctica in 1983. Only a few humans live there, especially, for research purposes.

Also known as Europa, Europe is the sixth largest continent in the world and is famous for having a long diversified history, rich traditions, historical languages and ancient civilizations. There are fifty independent states that have recognition of the United Nations (UN). European Union is the largest organization of this continent.

Australia is the world’s smallest continent. According to some geographers, being surrounded by water, it is an island. But you will find it large enough to be considered a separate continent. Also known as "Oceania", Australia is sometimes considered a part of Asia. That's why it is also know as "Australasia”.